Fulton County Court Improvement Task Force

With the largest court system in Georgia, Fulton County must meet court user needs in an accessible, efficient, and fair manner. But, like trial courts throughout the state and the nation, the Fulton County courts struggle to deliver optimal services under tightening budgets. A December 2005 U.S. District Court order settling an inmate class action lawsuit and delineating explicit improvements to overcrowded conditions at the county jail also places constant pressure on the courts.

Realizing the need for modernization and more cost-effective processes and systems, Fulton County Superior Court Chief Judge Cynthia D. Wright and State Court Chief Judge Patsy Y. Porter agreed that the courts could use help in charting a path for the future. In November 2011, the judges gathered a group of knowledgeable, trusted stakeholders to form the Fulton County Court Improvement Task Force. The Task Force’s primary goal was to anticipate demands on the judicial system and recommend how best to prepare for those demands with respect to court organization, jurisdiction, and operations. Presented below are the Task Force’s Final Report and Recommendations, a list of Task Force members, and links to the appendices of the report.

  • Final Report and Recommendations.
  • Members of the Task Force
    • Mr. William Barwick, Esq., Former President of the State Bar of Georgia, Duane Morris LLP
    • Ms. Rita Sheffey, Esq., Immediate Past-President of the Atlanta Bar Association, Hunton & Williams LLP
    • Ms. Cicely Barber, Administrator, State Court of Fulton County
    • Mr. John H. Eaves, Chairman, Fulton County Board of Commissioners
    • Reverend Darrell Elligan, President, Lighthouse Community Development Corporation
    • Ms. Joan P. Garner, District 6, Fulton County Board of Commissioners
    • Ms. Liz Hausmann, District 3, Fulton County Board of Commissioners
    • Ms. Harriet Isenberg, Esq., Isenberg & Hewitt PC
    • Mr. Thomas M. LaDow, Business Consultant and Founder, ICM Strategies
    • Mr. George Lawson, Esq., Lawson and Thornton PC
    • Ms. Yolanda Lewis, Fulton County Superior Court Administrator and 5th District Court Administrator
    • Chief Judge Patsy Y. Porter, State Court of Fulton County
    • Mr. A. J. Robinson, President, Central Atlanta Progress
    • Ms. Cathelene “Tina” Robinson, Clerk of Fulton County Superior Court 
    • Representative Wendell Willard, Chairman, House Judiciary Committee
    • Chief Judge Cynthia D. Wright, Superior Court, Atlanta Judicial Circuit and 5th District Administrative Judge